One Try release day celebration!

One Try release day celebration!

OneTry_CVR1 (1)

Happy to say that One Try is out today!

For fans of Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle, ONE TRY is a charming Christmas novella set against a gorgeous Hawaiian backdrop.

When Thompson is home for winter break he finds out the Tiki House, the local hangout he loves to hate, is in financial trouble. Determined not to let one of his favorite places close, he and his friend Johnny concoct a plan to save it.

Thompson’s ex-girlfriend is home for Christmas, too…And she wants to help.

What happens when the two get together to try and save their favorite Honolulu dive?

Part romance, part comedy, ONE TRY is about going for it–in life, love, and everything you do. It appeals to fans of Hallmark Christmas movies and novels by Debbie Macomber.

Though ONE TRY is technically the third part of the Thompson Lake series it can be read as a standalone YA romance novella.

Links to order ONE TRY:

Amazon – https://amzn.to/2Ot6qZL

Apple – https://apple.co/2E1BJa3

B&N – https://bit.ly/2CpxeVn

Kobo – https://bit.ly/2yf8GK0

P.S. If you’d like to share the links on social, I’ve created a cute graphic below!

wreath social 2 one try

To be the first to know about new books sign up for my email list.

One Night is on sale for 99 cents

One Night is on sale for 99 cents

99 cent promo v2

Hey all! One Night is only 99 cents today!

Here are the links to order:

Amazon – http://amzn.to/2AAxbjZ

iBooks – https://apple.co/2Iy77hH

Kobo – https://bit.ly/2ITzA29

B&N – https://bit.ly/2LGsQCw

Also, as a bonus One Love, the second book in the series, is on sale for $1.99 🙂 Go here to order.

Happy reading!

To be the first to know about new posts, sign up for my email list.

One Night & One Love are free!

One Night & One Love are free!

Thompson Series social promo

For the next few days the digital ebook bundle of One Night and One Love is free on Amazon. Here are the links to download:

Don’t have a Kindle? Amazon has a free app you can download. Go here to get it.

Praise for One Night and One Love:

“Worth reading a million times!” –Evil Queen and the Flying Monkey Reads

“Thoroughly enjoyed this quirky cast of characters and the setting.” –I Got the Books

“Great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson.” –Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

To be the first to know about promotions, sign up for my email list.

Thompson Lake Ebook Bundle Out Now

Thompson Lake Ebook Bundle Out Now

Thompson Series social promo

Happy to announce that the Thompson Lake ebook bundle is out now! You can get both books in the series, One Night and One Love for only $5.99. It’s also free to Kindle Unlimited users for a limited time.

What readers have said about the series:

“Worth reading a million times!” –Evil Queen and the Flying Monkey Reads

“Thoroughly enjoyed this quirky cast of characters and the setting.” –I Got the Books

“Great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson.” –Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

Go here to order.

To be the first to know about new releases, sign up for my email list.

One Night & One Love are free on Kindle Unlimited

One Night & One Love are free on Kindle Unlimited

ONE LOVE social Thompson share

Hi all,

Just wanted to let you know that both my novels are free on Kindle Unlimited. If you have a KU subscription read away! Here are the links:

To be the first to know about book news, sign up for my email list.

Spotify playlists for my books

Spotify playlists for my books

Spotify blog post

Putting together Spotify playlists for One Night and One Love has been on my to do list for a loooong time. The good news is now you can get into Thompson’s head even more by listening to songs that inspired me while I was writing about his journey.

Link to the One Night playlist

Link to the One Love playlist

Happy listening! And writing 🙂

To be the first to know about new posts, sign up for my email list.

P.S. In case you haven’t heard the digital version of One Night is free on Amazon until Monday. Go here to get your copy.

The One Night ebook is free!

The One Night ebook is free!

One Night image

For the next five days the digital version of One Night is free on Amazon. Here are the links to download:

Don’t have a Kindle? Amazon has a free app you can download. Go here to get it.

Praise for One Night:

“Worth reading a million times!” –Evil Queen and the Flying Monkey Reads

“Thoroughly enjoyed this quirky cast of characters and the setting.” –I Got the Books

“Great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson.” –Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

To be the first to know about promotions, sign up for my email list.

What I learned from being rejected by Amazon’s Kindle Scout

What I learned from being rejected by Amazon’s Kindle Scout

Most writers don’t like writing about rejection, but in an effort to be helpful I wanted to share the details of my Kindle Scout experience for my YA novel One Love.

I submitted to the Kindle Scout program for two reasons: the possibility of a $1,500 advance and having Amazon’s marketing machine behind me and thus, wider distribution online.

To me it was a win-win because even if my novel wasn’t picked (spoiler alert: it wasn’t) I would still be able to have Amazon alert those who voted for me when I released the book myself.

The campaign went live on October 8, 2017 and ended November 6, 2017. During that time I asked members of my email list to vote and posted on social media maybe three times. Everything I’ve read suggests that Kindle Scout editors don’t really base their decision on nominations, but rather what they happen to be looking for at the time.

My campaign results: 21 hours in hot and trending and 2,800 views.

KS stats

On November 19, my book was rejected. I decided to release the book myself on December 1. I notified Amazon about my release on December 4, 2017. The next day, early in the morning, an email was sent to those who nominated with a link to my book.

Here’s a screenshot of the email:

KS email

The book reached #27 in this category with a rank of 125K overall.

Kindle > Teen > Geography & Cultures > Europe

In terms of sales I did not see a huge spike (we’re talking a handful of sales after the Kindle Scout’s team email went out).

What did I learn?

  1. The selection process is a bit mysterious. I voted for other novels to see how the process works, and several were in hot and trending every day but didn’t get selected.
  2. The data available is limited. It’s hard to tell of the 2,800 page views just how many were actual nominations.
  3. I’m not sure if I would try the program again. I wish there was more data than what Kindle Scout provides. At this point I can’t tell if they helped spread the word about my book or not.

What about you? Would you try submitting to the program?

To be the first to know about new posts, sign up for my email list.

Help One Love get on Goodreads lists

Help One Love get on Goodreads lists

Hi all,

I have a favor to ask that will only take a few seconds of your time. If you are a member of Goodreads would you consider adding One Love to these reading lists (links follow below):

Best Long Distance Relationship Books

Clean New Adult

Young adult books set in college or after high school

Filipino writers

Best books by Filipino authors

Adding One Love to these lists would greatly help me in spreading the word about my novel. Since I’m the author I am unable to add my own books, but if you could help that would be awesome!!

Thanks 🙂

ONE LOVE social Thompson share

To be the first to know about new books, sign up for my email list.