Work in progress: update!

Work in progress: update!

other side quote 1

As you may or may not know from following this blog I’ve been working on my young adult novel, The Other Side of the World off and on since 2015 (June 27, 2015 to be exact – I checked Microsoft Word). That’s approaching three years, people! During that time I almost gave up on the project, but am happy to report it has found life again. I recently completed the Writing in the Margins mentorship which really kicked my butt and helped me see the manuscript in a new way. I did some major rewrites and am now on the hunt for a literary agent.

You can read the full description of the project here. The novel has changed a ton and I’m happy to report it features a biracial main character (half Filipino, half white) like me 🙂

To be the first to know about new projects, sign up for my email list.

One Night & One Love are free!

One Night & One Love are free!

Thompson Series social promo

For the next few days the digital ebook bundle of One Night and One Love is free on Amazon. Here are the links to download:

Don’t have a Kindle? Amazon has a free app you can download. Go here to get it.

Praise for One Night and One Love:

“Worth reading a million times!” –Evil Queen and the Flying Monkey Reads

“Thoroughly enjoyed this quirky cast of characters and the setting.” –I Got the Books

“Great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson.” –Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

To be the first to know about promotions, sign up for my email list.

What I’m Reading, Watching, and Writing This Month

What I’m Reading, Watching, and Writing This Month

the-update-1

It’s that time again for the monthly update where I review what I’m reading, watching, and writing. Enjoy!

What I’m reading:

  • The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan. This YA novel recently hit the NYT bestseller list. I am not big on magical realism or the fantastical at all, but I did enjoy this book a lot. The protagonist, Leigh, believes her dead mother has become a bird.

What I’m watching:

  • Dirty Money on Netflix. If you want all your suspicions about corporate greed/corporate America to be confirmed this documentary is for you. Be warned: you’ll be angry after watching!
  • Flint Town on Netflix. What can I say, I love me a good docu-series. This one is about Flint, Michigan and its struggles with crime, the economy, and its water.

What I’m writing:

To be the first to know about new posts, sign up for my email list.

How to Avoid Burnout as a Writer (and as a person)

How to Avoid Burnout as a Writer (and as a person)

Blog- stress

Let me start off by saying I don’t know the answer to avoiding burnout. I’m not a doctor or a psychologist or anything like that. But since the start of this year I have been trying to find it. Putting too much pressure on yourself can make you feel like you’re on the verge of a nervous breakdown every week. Trust me I’ve been there.

This year I set one personal goal for myself: to be less stressed. Stress can kill you or make you sick so reducing it is something I take seriously.

Of course, I didn’t do anything in January to help me achieve this goal. I started off the year pushing it hard in all areas: work, writing, and saying yes to as many things as possible. After a month and a half I was exhausted. Working full-time, writing a novel in one month, and taking care of a house, dog, etc. is a lot for anyone. Over the last several weeks I’ve been trying to reduce the stress in my life and feel like I’m on the way to making progress.

Some things I’ve found helpful:

Remove social media apps from your phone. I used to check Twitter and Facebook multiple times a day. It wasn’t leading to anything productive. I used to be afraid of missing out on writing articles, publishing advice, and family photos. I removed the one-tap apps from my phone and find I visit the sites less and less. I might even delete Facebook altogether.

Make time for exercise. I sit for a good 8 hours a day and for another hour to write. Sitting is the new smoking according to some. To combat all the sitting I try to do some exercise every day. A good friend of mine recommended the 30-day Fitness Challenge app. I find it pushes me just hard enough to break a good sweat and reset mentally.

Get outside for at least five minutes a day if you can. I work from home a lot so it’s easy for me to fit a walk in. On the days I go to my office I walk a mile and a half to and from work. For those who don’t have the freedom to do this, set a daily reminder on your calendar to get out, even if it’s just for five minutes in the parking lot. I feel so much better after I get some fresh air.

Write when inspired and don’t push it just for the sake of pushing it. This is one that’s been hard for me to adhere to. I’ve always had the “butt in chair” mentality when it comes to writing. The more you do, the higher the output, the better you will get. But writing a novel in one month made me loathe writing (usually it takes me several months to write a first draft, but I wanted to see how many books I could write in 2018). I really don’t like that feeling. For now, I’m trying to write when I want to write. Recently, I took a two-week break from writing and editing, something I haven’t done in over ten years.

Say no more often. I had several interviews lined up to talk about writing and publishing and I did something I thought I would never do: I cancelled some of them. These were opportunities I had sought out to try and promote my work, and I couldn’t believe I was turning things down. Here’s the thing, though. I didn’t feel bad about cancelling. I felt relieved. Could I spend more time promoting my books? Yes. Is it good for my health to always be on top of it? No.

Your turn. What have you done to try and reduce stress in your life? I’d love to hear your tips in the comments.

Don’t miss my other post, How to Avoid Burnout as a Writer Part II.

 

Listen to my interview at Shelf Addiction

Listen to my interview at Shelf Addiction

Spotify blog post

A few weeks ago I was honored to be interviewed by Tamara who produces the Shelf Addiction podcast. In the interview we discuss creating playlists that are inspired by the books I’ve written and vice versa. Go here to listen to the interview.

To be the first to know about new posts sign up for my email list.

P.S. the ebook version of One Night is on sale for 99 cents at Amazon for the next few days. If you haven’t checked it out yet this is a good way to do it 🙂

What I’m Reading, Writing, and Watching This Month

What I’m Reading, Writing, and Watching This Month

the-update-1

I haven’t done one of these updates in a loooong time. But here we go 🙂

What I’m Reading:

  • The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly. Just finished this MG novel the other day and WOW. I am impressed. Granted, I have a Filipino parent like the author does so I relate on a special level but still. Solid writing and an engaging plot about two Filipina sisters and their evil stepmother.
  • You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone by Rachel Lynn Solomon. Not sure what it is with me and novels about Huntington’s disease (for another great one check out Rules for 50/50 Chances by Kate McGovern), but this book is excellent. Two sisters are about to find out if they have the disease or not. And one of them is kinda evil, the kind of character you love to hate. All in all a great read.

What I’m Writing:

What I’m Watching:

  • The Greatest Showman. My god if you love musicals you need to check this out. The score is great. The cast is great. My sister and I bought the soundtrack right after seeing the movie. Plus Hugh Jackman. What’s not to like?
  • The Resident, Fox’s new medical show. Since ER went off the air (yes, I’m aging myself LOL) I have been dying for a great medical show to take its place. I hope The Resident lasts because I think it has a shot at taking the title. From hospital romance to the greed of insurance corporations this show has it all.

What are you reading, writing, or watching this month? Share in the comments.

To be the first to know about new posts, sign up for my email list.

Thompson Lake Ebook Bundle Out Now

Thompson Lake Ebook Bundle Out Now

Thompson Series social promo

Happy to announce that the Thompson Lake ebook bundle is out now! You can get both books in the series, One Night and One Love for only $5.99. It’s also free to Kindle Unlimited users for a limited time.

What readers have said about the series:

“Worth reading a million times!” –Evil Queen and the Flying Monkey Reads

“Thoroughly enjoyed this quirky cast of characters and the setting.” –I Got the Books

“Great for fans of John Green and Maureen Johnson.” –Lauren’s Crammed Bookshelf

Go here to order.

To be the first to know about new releases, sign up for my email list.

Awesome Publishing FAQ blog post from The Daily Dahlia

Awesome Publishing FAQ blog post from The Daily Dahlia

Hang around publishing people of all types and you’ll see the same questions and answers surfacing over and over again, despite the zillions of excellent resources on the internet. So, I decided to pack the most common questions and my most favorite answers into one work-in-progress place. Ta da! (Note that you can also find […]

via A Publishing FAQ Master Post — The Daily Dahlia

One Night & One Love are free on Kindle Unlimited

One Night & One Love are free on Kindle Unlimited

ONE LOVE social Thompson share

Hi all,

Just wanted to let you know that both my novels are free on Kindle Unlimited. If you have a KU subscription read away! Here are the links:

To be the first to know about book news, sign up for my email list.