Books to read if you enjoyed One Night

Book pic

Here’s a list of comparable books to check out while you’re waiting for the companion to One Night. (Spoiler alert: fans of Thompson’s BFF Ronnie will be glad to know he plays a much bigger role in this book!)

The One Night comp title list, in no particular order:

Because You’ll Never Meet Me by Leah Thomas. This YA novel takes quirky friendship to a new level. Ollie is allergic to electricity and Moritz has a rare heart condition. For medical reasons the two can never meet, but their friendship is brought to life through their heartfelt letters to one another.

The Last True Love Story by Brendan Kiely. Hendrix, the main character in this novel, would definitely get along with Thompson. Like Thompson he makes it his mission to reunite his grandpa with the one place that reminds him of his one true love. Hendrix busts grandpa out of assisted living and they take an epic road trip from LA to NY.

The One Thing by Marci Lyn Curtis. This is another YA novel that centers around an unlikely friendship that just works. Teenager Maggie is blind until the day she suddenly starts seeing Ben, a ten year-old boy. Ben is the only person she can see and over time they develop a great friendship. I’m a firm believer that two people don’t have to be near the same age to share a special bond and this book delivers on that idea.

Paper Towns by John Green. Like Thompson, Quentin pines for a girl who doesn’t deserve it and goes to extreme lengths to find her when she goes missing. Don’t watch the movie instead of reading the book! There are some great scenes in the book that didn’t make the cinematic cut.

For more posts like these, sign up for my email list.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s